ALLEN COLLEGE GRANT FOR RURAL STUDENTS

Allen College was awarded a U.S. Department of Education Grant for Rural Postsecondary and Economic Development over a three-year period from October 1, 2022 through September 30, 2025. The aim of our grant project is to increase the number of high school students enrolling at Allen College who attended a high school with a rural locale code within 50 miles of Waterloo.

There are 39 high schools within our project service area. As a part of our program, Allen College will be working with these school districts to raise awareness for healthcare professions through a combination of in-person and online educational opportunities. We will be providing services to assist students in transitioning to higher education. We are also able to award over \$700,000 in scholarships throughout the duration of the grant to eligible students who graduated from these high schools.

Monica Berning (monica.berning@allencollege. edu) has been hired as a Community Outreach Coordinator to work with the school districts and develop programming.

*Please note: Not all students who graduate from the high schools on this list will be eligible to receive a scholarship. There are a designated number of scholarships available each year to students who qualify. Students' first full year at Allen College must be during the duration of the grant period to be considered.

Please contact Financial Aid Counselor Corrine Ott (corrine.ott@allencollege.edu) with questions or for additional clarification.

The schools included in this project are:

- AGWSR High School
- Alburnett Sr. High School
- Aplington-Parkersburg High School
- BCLUW High School
- Belle Plaine Jr./Sr. High School
- Benton Community Senior High School
- Center Point-Urbana High School
- Central City High School
- Clarksville High School
- Denver High School
- Dike-New Hartford High School
- Don Bosco High School
- Dunkerton High School
- East Buchanan High School
- East Marshall Sr. High School
- Gladbrook-Reinbeck High School
- GMG Secondary School
- Grundy Center High School
- Independence Jr./Sr. High School
- Janesville Jr./Sr. High School
- Jesup High School
- Maquoketa Valley Senior High School
- Nashua-Plainfield Jr./Sr. High School
- New Hampton High School
- North Fayette Valley High School
- North-Linn Sr. High School
- North Tama High School
- Rockford Jr./Sr. High School
- South Hardin High School
- South Tama High School
- Starmont High School
- Sumner-Fredericksburg High School
- Tripoli Middle/Sr. High School
- Union High School
- Vinton-Shellsburg High School
- Wapsie Valley High School
- West Central Charter High School
- West Fork High School
- West Marshall High School

